Skip to content
Wish Lists Cart
0 items
Language / Currency Sidebar




Want to know the name and moves of the chess pieces

by Ravi Sharma 16 Oct 2022 0 Comments

The origin of the game of chess is often controversial, because some say it began in China, while others believe it had been started in India. 

In India it is known as Chaturanga. The most popular conviction is that it originated in Northern India. However, it is still debatable with no definite answer, and all you can do is believe in stories and legends. Over the years, Chess has endured a series of evolutions, including changing chess figure names and different game moves. From that Era till now modern time, Chess has come across through many variations.



The chess game board comprises 64 squares. It can be coloured alternately in black and white colors, brown and beige. Basically it depends on the high grade wood color.  

There are a total 32 chess pieces. The chess pieces are divided into two halves as 16 pawns and 16 pieces which include king, queen, knight, bishop, rook.

Staunton Castle Chess Pieces or Chess sets are amongst the best sets, and even these chess sets are used in games as well.  The Champions also use them. Staunton Castle Luxury chess sets or Mandeep Saggu series are master blaster sets which are famous among collectors and hobbits. 

Chess can be played only between two opponents, the two sets of 16 chess pieces are each colored equally in black and white or brown or beige combination. For each player, one can arrange the chess pieces in two rows on the opposite ends of the chessboard as follows:

The first or front row consists of eight pawns and the second or inner row has the other pieces arranged strategically.

Firstly, the two rooks take up the two corners of the inner row. Then, you place both knights next to the two rooks.

After the knights, the bishops take their place next to them in the inner row.

If you are the player who has taken the white pieces, place the king on a black square next to one of the bishops in the inner row, and the player with the black pieces places the king in a white square.

Most importantly, you must put the queens next to the respective kings.




Pawn is the first line of armor on each side of the chessboard and also known as foot soldiers. There are a total of 8 pawns on each side. The pawns are also known as ‘Padati’ in Sanskrit, which means foot soldiers. The Arabic word for pawn, ‘Baidaq’ also means the same. The eight pawn pieces of a chess player move one step forward from the second move onwards. Only on the first move do you have the choice of moving it two steps forward. The pawns are like the foot soldiers in a battle, taking up the front row. The pawn can capture the opponent's chess piece by moving a step diagonally. This chess piece is the only one with the superpower of transforming into any other chess piece of your choice if it reaches the last row of the opponent's end of the chessboard.



Knight is a piece on a chess board which moves in long L shape or short L. It is the only piece on a chess board that can jump over other pieces. The two knights, who look like a horse, can move three squares in an L-shaped pattern. The three steps are either two steps first and 1 step next or 1 step first and two steps next following the formation of the letter L on completion of the move.



There are two bishops as a player, one in black and the other in white chessboard squares. They can move diagonally on any number of squares of the same color they belong to.

The bishop is an interesting player because it never moves straight forward, backward or side to side. It cannot hop over other pieces like a knight. The bishop moves only on diagonals and plays its part.



The rook is also two chess pieces per player, and they can move only vertically or horizontally along any number of empty squares on the chessboard.  Marching the ranks and files of the chess board, the rook is one of the most powerful pieces in chess.



What Is the Queen Chess Piece? 

How to Move Queens In terms of  power? Want to know,  the queen is the most powerful piece on the chessboard and one of the most iconic pieces in any board game, be it the moves of the rook and the bishop in one piece. It is  the most valuable piece in the game of chess apart from the king. 

The queen can move horizontally, vertically, or diagonally along any number of empty squares on the chessboard and is one of the most powerful chess pieces in the game. However, every player gets only one queen.



A king is the tallest chess piece and it can be identified by the crown on top of it. There are a total of two kings on the chess board and both of them are placed on the first row and another on the last row, facing each other. 

There is only one king per player, and he is the most precious piece of the game. However, it is also one of the weakest chess pieces and can move one empty square diagonally, horizontally, or vertically. You should also be aware not to move the king to a square that the opponent can attack, as it is the primary objective of the game of chess and to protect your king is the biggest thing ever. 


Knowing how many pieces are in chess and their names are not sufficient. You must understand how to move them around the chessboard strategically and of course with rules. Different pieces have different rules that apply to them, and some chess pieces can perform a few special moves. 

Therefore, you should learn to use them well to take an advantage in the game. The chess pieces are made from  wood, plastic, glass, metal or even chess pieces that you can choose as per your comfort. We suggest you buy chess sets, chess boards from Staunton Castle. The material they used was of very high quality, the woods are of high grade, no chipping, no cracking. 

The chess sets come with a life long guarantee. 


Prev Post
Next Post

Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

Thanks for subscribing!

This email has been registered!

Shop the look

Choose Options

Recently Viewed

Edit Option
Back In Stock Notification
this is just a warning
Shopping Cart
0 items